Eagles 21/22 Award Winners

The Clarington Eagles were proud to present some team awards for the 2021-2022 season during the Schmalz Cup tournament in May.

For starters, Clarington’s overage forward Brent Lace was presented with the Leading Scorer award. Lace earned 36 points (17 goals and 19 assists) in 31 regular season matches.

The team’s Top Forward award went to Brady Darrach, who appeared in just 14 regular season contests and racked up 27 points, including 11 goals.

Captain Mitch Doyle was chosen as the Eagles’ Top Defenceman. Doyle, who has used up his junior eligibility, had 16 points (five goals, 11 assists) in 22 regular season appearances.

A pair of rookie awards were also presented. Leyton Aitken was deemed the best rookie forward while Ethan Schoonderbeek was chosen as the top rookie defenceman. Aitken racked up 20 points, including eight goals, in 24 regular season outings. And Schoonderbeek was credited with 16 points, including four goals, in 31 contests.

The Eagles also had a pair of co-winners – goaltender Alex Lepizzera and forward Dawson Manning – for their playoff MVP award.

Lepizzera won 19 out of his 23 post-season games, registering four shutouts and a 1.66 goals-against average. Manning led all Eagles’ scorers in the playoffs, compiling 36 points (17 goals and 19 assists) in 23 matches.